7 Comments
author

One that I would add to our change mix tape playlist is "Landslide" by Fleetwood Mac. Aside from Stevie Nicks' slay-me-always voice, this song acknowledges all the fear and longing that comes along with making big changes in life. How do we find the courage to grow, to change beyond the people, the circumstances, the things, that have been there forever? That may not fit in the same way anymore, but that we still love because they're a part of us and our life experience?

"I took my love, I took it down

I climbed a mountain and I turned around

And I saw my reflection in the snow-covered hills

'Til the landslide brought me down

Oh, mirror in the sky

What is love?

Can the child within my heart rise above?

Can I sail through the changin' ocean tides?

Can I handle the seasons of my life?

Well, I've been afraid of changin'

'Cause I've built my life around you

But time makes you bolder

Even children get older

And I'm getting older too."

Expand full comment
Feb 7, 2023·edited Feb 7, 2023Liked by Kristina Ralston

"Perfect" by Pink

When contemplating change, it is so important to love and embrace yourself just as you are. Lack of self-confidence makes it difficult to be brave and daring, and to make decisions that involve change and uncertainty. This song pumps me up with self-love. Pink thinks you're f*n perfect - borrow her belief in you if your own is wobbly!

Pretty, pretty please, don't you ever, ever feel

Like you're less than f*n' perfect

Pretty, pretty please, if you ever, ever feel like you're nothing

You're f*n' perfect to me

Expand full comment
Feb 7, 2023Liked by Kristina Ralston

"Try" by Colbie Caillat

The lyrics say "You don't have to change a single thing" so on the surface it might seem like it's a song against change... but it's not. It's about being your authentic self and liking yourself, and not trying so hard to please others by conforming to what we think are the expectations others have of us.

You don't have to try so hard

You don't have to give it all away

You just have to get up, get up, get up, get up

You don't have to change a single thing

You don't have to try so hard

You don't have to bend until you break

You just have to get up, get up, get up, get up

You don't have to change a single thing

Expand full comment
Feb 7, 2023Liked by Kristina Ralston

"Fight Song" by Rachel Platten

This is my fight song

Take back my life song

Prove I'm alright song

My power's turned on

Starting right now I'll be strong

I'll play my fight song

And I don't really care if nobody else believes

'Cause I've still got a lot of fight left in me

Expand full comment